AMOMSMUSINGS.DIARYLAND.COM

ABOUT A MOM'S MUSINGS-
CLICK HERE TO CHECK ME OUT *WINK WINK* ;)

The Crew

The Dark Side of The Crew

101 Fabulous Things

PAST MUSINGS-
three years? no freakin' way
It's Been A While...Obviously!
amomsmusings receives a major revelation
after a long silence, amomsmusings speaks again
Roll, Tide, Roll!

CURRENT READS-
"A wise woman--an admired mother and wife--when asked how, with her weak physical health and many demands upon her time, she managed to read so much, said, 'Besides my Bible, I always keep books going that are just for me--a stiff book, a moderately easy book, and a novel, and I always take up the one I feel fit for.'"
--Charlotte Mason Companion

STIFF:
The Spirit of the Disciplines
by Dallas Willard

MODERATELY EASY:
Between Heaven & Hell
by Peter Kreeft

NOVEL:
Sophie's World
by Jostein Gaarder

DIARYLAND

Me: Interior Design Genius!
2005-07-04
8:18 a.m.

It's summertime and it's supposed to be slow, so why is it that I can't stop? Perhaps it's because I have seven children? I don't remember it being this way when I had fewer kids. Maybe it's because I'm older and tireder and slower. Whatever. And besides, what alternative do I have? I think getting rid of a few children would be illegal, and besides, I kinda like them all. So I guess I just need to get used to it and consider this my new norm.

Ev and Shau were in Washington (state) last week. I saw this as a wonderful opportunity to clean Shau's room for the first time in whoknowshowlong, so I went in and cleaned out everything. Everything. And then I had the overwhelming urge to paint the walls and redecorate. The last time we painted the room I left the color choice up to Shau and she picked out a hideous shade of Pepto*Bismol pink. I don't know why she did that since she's not a pink girly type girl, but... So, while rushing through Targ*t I spied a retro 70's colored pillow and I knew exactly what to do with her room. It is now clean and organized, has pool blue walls (courtesy of Sherw*n Will*ams and me), and is dressed in funky shades of orange, pink, aqua, white, and chocolate brown. Best of all I did it for less than $200. When she got home from WA it was just like an episode of "While You Were Out." It was very late when they drove up and she saw the light on in her room. She thought I had cleaned it *gasp, shudder, cry* in spite of all her warnings not to, so she wasn't exactly thrilled when I told her to close her eyes and walked her back to her room. I maneuvered her through the debris field that littered the hallway in front of her door and then took my hands off her eyes. She was jaw-dropping shocked. It was great! Yes, it does look designer and now the rest of the kids are making dibs on who gets her room when she moves out. I don't blame them, I want her room. It's THAT good!

The neighbors I wrote about some entries back (too lazy to link) who put their huge inflatible pool in our yard have since then added white trash lawn chairs ("community chairs" she called them) and a rickity volleyball net, along with a kajillion assorted toys. They've always been great neighbors but I don't know what's taken over their souls lately. We discreetly put everything but the pool on their deck (didn't want to appear to be too hard-nosed) and so far only a few toys have returned. It's just strange to have people take over your yard without even asking.

My brother and his family are coming in from Maryland tomorrow. It's been two years since we've gotten together so it'll be wonderful to see them...we always have the greatest times! And my nephew is bringing his girlfriend along. Time has to have wings because wasn't he just a little boy no time ago? He moved away from home a few weeks back and my brother said that he and my SIL went up to his room that night and just sat there. He said it felt so empty. My day is coming and it makes me sad.

Enjoy your Independence Day!

6 comments so far

previous current next
archives