AMOMSMUSINGS.DIARYLAND.COM

ABOUT A MOM'S MUSINGS-
CLICK HERE TO CHECK ME OUT *WINK WINK* ;)

The Crew

The Dark Side of The Crew

101 Fabulous Things

PAST MUSINGS-
three years? no freakin' way
It's Been A While...Obviously!
amomsmusings receives a major revelation
after a long silence, amomsmusings speaks again
Roll, Tide, Roll!

CURRENT READS-
"A wise woman--an admired mother and wife--when asked how, with her weak physical health and many demands upon her time, she managed to read so much, said, 'Besides my Bible, I always keep books going that are just for me--a stiff book, a moderately easy book, and a novel, and I always take up the one I feel fit for.'"
--Charlotte Mason Companion

STIFF:
The Spirit of the Disciplines
by Dallas Willard

MODERATELY EASY:
Between Heaven & Hell
by Peter Kreeft

NOVEL:
Sophie's World
by Jostein Gaarder

DIARYLAND

Looking For Rainbows in the Midst of May's Chaos
2005-05-12
11:44 a.m.

Is the month of May insane for everybody else in the world, or is it just me? Why is it that everyone feels compelled to screw up an absolutely wonderful month by cramming it full of everything they want to get done before summer starts. Graduations, weddings, recitals, banquets, showers, spring cleaning, blah, blah, blah. If anybody requests that I add one more thing to my May calendar I will kill them. There, I've warned you!

Today must be the day of the week that the "unknown name, unknown number" automated solicitor will call my house every 30 minutes trying to send a fax. It happens every week. Betty Already has written and asked why I'm taking forever to post. It's because I'm either running to and fro, burning up the asphalt and expensive tanks of gas, or else I'm answering my phone and clicking it down on the automated fax phantoms. I was going to write "slamming it down" until I realized that in reality all I can do is press a little button. Woo, how threatening! I think a little old-fashioned phone slamming would help me vent a little frustration here.

J has also chosen this week to be gone on a "working retreat." That means that I'm left alone to do all the running for seven children. Once Lil is weaned I'm going to take off for a weeklong "I'm-not-doing-anything-for- anyone-other-than-myself retreat." Yes!

Today I've stayed in my jammies and now I'm contemplating emerging from my bedroom to fix lunch. After that I need to:
1) Clean the kitchen.
2) Wash some clothes.
3) Take Sof to ballet class.
4) Take Moll to soccer practice.
5) Get money to fund Shau's trip to St. Louis to see Green Day in concert.
6) Go to Best Buy to buy an adaptor so that Ev can use the soundsystem in the gymnasium for her little girls recital.
7) Drop Shau off at Rache's to go on her trip to STL.
8) Take Ev to ballet class.
9) Pick Moll, Sof and Jes up at my dad's after Ev's class.
10) Come home, bathe Lil the Pill, put her to sleep, and if my eyes don't slam shut I'll get on D'land and tell you how my afternoon/evening adventures went.

Enough whining, I need to be looking for rainbows today.

Heard at my house on Tuesday:
Six females of varying ages shrieking excitedly because the baby female has finally learned how to make her walker move across the kitchen floor. Then enters the lone 4-year-old male who matter-of-factly states, "Yeah, well that's why they call it a walker."

2 comments so far

previous current next
archives