AMOMSMUSINGS.DIARYLAND.COM

ABOUT A MOM'S MUSINGS-
CLICK HERE TO CHECK ME OUT *WINK WINK* ;)

The Crew

The Dark Side of The Crew

101 Fabulous Things

PAST MUSINGS-
three years? no freakin' way
It's Been A While...Obviously!
amomsmusings receives a major revelation
after a long silence, amomsmusings speaks again
Roll, Tide, Roll!

CURRENT READS-
"A wise woman--an admired mother and wife--when asked how, with her weak physical health and many demands upon her time, she managed to read so much, said, 'Besides my Bible, I always keep books going that are just for me--a stiff book, a moderately easy book, and a novel, and I always take up the one I feel fit for.'"
--Charlotte Mason Companion

STIFF:
The Spirit of the Disciplines
by Dallas Willard

MODERATELY EASY:
Between Heaven & Hell
by Peter Kreeft

NOVEL:
Sophie's World
by Jostein Gaarder

DIARYLAND

Children are a sweet reward, following my vacation dream, and Perry the Political Animal Speaks
2005-02-22
10:06 p.m.

There are two things I never thought I'd hear my 17-year-old say.

1. "You know, I think that I actually like working with kids."

2. "I need to buy a Day-Timer. I'll use my own money."

This from a girl who has had more than her share of helping out with little ones who had vowed she'd never have kids. This from a girl who has never been big on planning and organization until the last minute. I stand in amazement as I watch the years of sowing and watering begin to bear fruit. And sweet fruit it is too. Irisheyes and forty-plus, let others say what they will, but this is exactly why we do what we do.

This morning, after I posted my dream, I took up the matter of finding a place to go on vacation during Spring Break. It's not Cancun, but it won't be our Virginia Vacation, a.k.a. The Vacation From Hell, either. It was last April and I was 5 months pregnant. We traveled 1000 miles (give or take) one way, Sof started vomiting en route, Sof ended up in an ER, Moll started vomiting, Jes had the runs, Han started vomiting....you get the picture. We were supposed to have gone to Disney World but my pregnancy wouldn't allow that, thankfully. So, anyway, I found a nice place that will hold all of our family and it's only 50 miles away. If everyone gets sick this time we'll only have a 45 minute drive rather than a 3 day one.

I read a great quote today which said, "Don't ruin a good apology with an excuse." I think it's a terrific rule and one which the author of the following letter should have heeded.

I now present to you, for those of you who are interested, the letter wherein Perry the Political Animal displays his amazing skills in back-pedaling, butt kissing, butt covering, brown nosing, and spin doctoring. Enjoy!

Dear diane:

Following several conversations with J beginning at the past General Assembly regarding the HH, I now realize that I have made a serious mistake not communicating with you as the Editor. For this I beg your forgiveness, as it was improper for me to do so. J and I have been very close friends in ministry; and have through the years shared our hearts with each other. This we did with regard to the HH. This is not an excuse, as the lack of personal communication with you was indeed an error on my part. This was a mistake of the head and not the heart. You and J truly are securely in my and E�s heart.

I understand that you have written to The Big Cheese regarding your feeling about the HH. I am not at this time privy to your letter, but I am sure the Big Cheese will bring it to the Administrative Committee, as we have not made a final decision on the HH. Our next Administrative Committee meeting will be February 16; and I will make sure to communicate with you regarding the decision.

I appreciate so very much your editorial and compassionate ministry you have given through the HH publication.

Blessing on you, J and family!

Perry the Political Animal

(Perry told J in November that the HH would end in February. Now, suddenly, a *final* decision hasn't been made. Hmmm...something strange is afoot at the Circle K.)

5 comments so far

previous current next
archives