AMOMSMUSINGS.DIARYLAND.COM

ABOUT A MOM'S MUSINGS-
CLICK HERE TO CHECK ME OUT *WINK WINK* ;)

The Crew

The Dark Side of The Crew

101 Fabulous Things

PAST MUSINGS-
three years? no freakin' way
It's Been A While...Obviously!
amomsmusings receives a major revelation
after a long silence, amomsmusings speaks again
Roll, Tide, Roll!

CURRENT READS-
"A wise woman--an admired mother and wife--when asked how, with her weak physical health and many demands upon her time, she managed to read so much, said, 'Besides my Bible, I always keep books going that are just for me--a stiff book, a moderately easy book, and a novel, and I always take up the one I feel fit for.'"
--Charlotte Mason Companion

STIFF:
The Spirit of the Disciplines
by Dallas Willard

MODERATELY EASY:
Between Heaven & Hell
by Peter Kreeft

NOVEL:
Sophie's World
by Jostein Gaarder

DIARYLAND

Granny's got a death wish, and I'm a major butt!
2005-02-19
4:44 p.m.

Here is my second post today. Obviously I have too much idle time.

I went to the store after I dropped Ev off for her "Oz" performance. (BTW, I went to see it last night and it was really, really good. Ev danced wonderfully and the new silver glitter around the eyes did make a difference.) Anyway, I went to the store to pick up a couple of ingredients for Shau's next "cheffery" offering, and I was almost ready to hit the check out when a very friendly, 60's something (age, not decade) lady stopped me. She began telling me about how she used to eat a lot of crap but had a heart attack and was now almost entirely vegetarian. However, she went on to explain that today she was having a tremendous craving for chili dogs which she just had to satisfy. I encouraged her greatly because this is the outlook I have about a lot of things. Indulge the craving and it will leave. You know, sometimes you've just gotta be bad. Well, I seriously made her day and she raised her hand up for me to lay on a high five, which I did. And then I looked into her cart. Whoa! Stashed in the cart were three, I said THREE, packages of hot dog buns and THREE packages of full fledged 100% artery clogging hot dogs. No lite, no fat free. I mean, she's going whole hog here. And to top it all off there were four cans of Castleberry hot dog sauce. Oh my gosh! This is not indulging, this is a death wish!

From there I pulled on in to the S*nic next door for a cherry limeade, and while I was paying Shau called me. I was on my way to Moll's soccer game, so I pulled on out of S*nic and continued the conversation as I drove. I hate people who cannot drive and drink and talk at the same time, and today I was one of those people. I was on a main drag trying to make a left, and there was a guy sitting at the street I wanted to turn onto who was waiting to make a left onto the street I was on. (Got that?) The point here is that I was waiting for traffic to clear so I could go, and this guy was waiting on me. I could have probably turned one car sooner, but I wasn't in any major hurry so I waited. Well, when I did make the turn the guy looked at me, raised his hands to his window and.... he applauded. For real! So what did I do? I looked back at him, and with a smile I nodded, mouthed "Thank you!" and drove right on. Thankfully I was in the Eclipse; the mini-van wouldn't have had the same umpf. I think he and I both deserved to cross paths today.

1 comments so far

previous current next
archives