AMOMSMUSINGS.DIARYLAND.COM

ABOUT A MOM'S MUSINGS-
CLICK HERE TO CHECK ME OUT *WINK WINK* ;)

The Crew

The Dark Side of The Crew

101 Fabulous Things

PAST MUSINGS-
three years? no freakin' way
It's Been A While...Obviously!
amomsmusings receives a major revelation
after a long silence, amomsmusings speaks again
Roll, Tide, Roll!

CURRENT READS-
"A wise woman--an admired mother and wife--when asked how, with her weak physical health and many demands upon her time, she managed to read so much, said, 'Besides my Bible, I always keep books going that are just for me--a stiff book, a moderately easy book, and a novel, and I always take up the one I feel fit for.'"
--Charlotte Mason Companion

STIFF:
The Spirit of the Disciplines
by Dallas Willard

MODERATELY EASY:
Between Heaven & Hell
by Peter Kreeft

NOVEL:
Sophie's World
by Jostein Gaarder

DIARYLAND

Quesadillas, Cherry Limeade, and Much, Much More
2005-01-29
8:22 a.m.

J and the girls got in at 11:30 last night and brought me the remnants of their dinner, part of which was a "danged quesedilla" which I promptly ate. Umm, umm, good!

The night before last, J brought me home a S*nic Cherry Limeade--extra large. These are my addiction. I craved them during my last pregnancy and it's never stopped. Anyway, he comes in carrying my enormous cup of deliciousness and sporting a soaked crotch. (Do I detect a raised eyebrow?) Of course it was the Cherry Limeade. He has a long history of bad accidents where S*nic fare is concerned (the foot long chili dog episode is a story unto itself) and it seems that the lid just popped off and the beverage went for it. Actually I think J was hoping my predilection for Limeade would expand beyond the cup, but...

How can I resist a man who is able to put a sleep-fighting baby to sleep? Last night 5moL was still kicking and going strong at 12:30 and Daddy just held her and talked her to sleep. She usually goes to sleep by 10:00 at the latest, but last night if I dared lay her down she turned into what her sisters call "the fighting ball of fury." Of course, it was after midnight, so how much longer could she have kept it up? The real question is probably how much longer could I have kept it up. I have to give credit where it's due and J gets a huge round of applause from this girl.

Like I said, the baby was up half the night, so by the time I got to sleep it was well after 1:00. Then L woke up twice which means I had very abbreviated sleep, and then it was up at the butt-crack of dawn to get 10yoM up for her 8:30 soccer game. Luckily J is here this weekend to take her to this one. I'll be taking her to the other seven 8:30 games since he's got a busy schedule coming up. Why 8:30 games? Who makes this schedule? Last session we had 10:30 games at the earliest so this is a real change. It's a bad way to begin the weekend, especially when you have snow on the ground.

Yes, we have snow! It's exactly the 3" they told us we'd have. The roads are fine, unfortunately, which means that I'll be able to get out today and taxi around. It'll be gone by this afternoon when it warms up to 40, but still it's snow and it made for a nice cozy morning.

I was reading Irisheyes this morning and she was wondering if perhaps her musical taste was too young. I was thinking about that very thing last night. I listen to and actually like a lot of the music my teenage daughters listen to. Would I go to a concert with them? No, that'd freak them out and I'd feel like an idiot. But can I be a closet fan? Why yes, yes I can! And I am. As a result of this I must tell you about my latest video fascinations. One is "The Distance" by Cake. This is one I'm not bashful about because Cake is an "all-age" band, meaning that it's not shameful for 40-year-olds to admit they listen to them. Their lead singer's voice matches his face (some peoples don't you know) and it's just cool. The other video is by "The Killers" and that's a band I need to stay in the closet about. It's not acceptable for perfectly normal housewives and mothers to confess that they enjoy watching men wearing eyeliner perform. Ever since Captain Jack Sparrow made his debut this has probably become a weakness for many of us. Anyway, their "Mr. Brightside" video is absolutely mesmerizing. If I were a cool blogger I'd have a link here for you, but I'm a novice, so... Welp, those are my picks for the week. And now I must go make pancakes.

0 comments so far

previous current next
archives