AMOMSMUSINGS.DIARYLAND.COM

ABOUT A MOM'S MUSINGS-
CLICK HERE TO CHECK ME OUT *WINK WINK* ;)

The Crew

The Dark Side of The Crew

101 Fabulous Things

PAST MUSINGS-
three years? no freakin' way
It's Been A While...Obviously!
amomsmusings receives a major revelation
after a long silence, amomsmusings speaks again
Roll, Tide, Roll!

CURRENT READS-
"A wise woman--an admired mother and wife--when asked how, with her weak physical health and many demands upon her time, she managed to read so much, said, 'Besides my Bible, I always keep books going that are just for me--a stiff book, a moderately easy book, and a novel, and I always take up the one I feel fit for.'"
--Charlotte Mason Companion

STIFF:
The Spirit of the Disciplines
by Dallas Willard

MODERATELY EASY:
Between Heaven & Hell
by Peter Kreeft

NOVEL:
Sophie's World
by Jostein Gaarder

DIARYLAND

Let it snow!
2005-01-28
7:58 p.m.

Snow! Finally! I got to drive 17yoE to her 6:30 call and it was just beautiful. Big, lucious flakes! I love downtown at night, but downtown at night with snow falling...sigh! I wish I was with J and the two older daughters tonight, but....someone has to hold the fort....and the baby. We're only supposed to get 3" but I'll take it. Yee, haw!

J and I were able to sneak off to see "Hotel Rwanda" this afternoon. It was nice to get away by ourselves; it'd been awhile. I love movies based on true stories so this one was right down my alley. It was so, so, so sad. The injustice was outrageous. Joaquin Phoenix's line "I'm so ashamed" sums up how the whole story makes you feel. But in the midst of all the murderous cowards and self-preservationists you have one man who's not afraid to do the right thing. I've admired Don Cheadle for a long time and his performance certainly is Oscar nomination worthy. What's disturbing is that this kind of thing goes on more than any of us would like to admit. It's going on in Sudan right now, but I'm sure we'll be able to keep looking the other way. For sure it made me see that as a Christian I do have a responsibility to those who are oppressed. Oh, the power of intercessory prayer. I know a lot of people would snark at this thought, but let them. There are some things that only God understands and only He has the power and insight to deal with.

Today is our day off and even though people know not to call on Friday's (except in emergencies) we still got calls all day long. Eighteen total. About half or less were really valid, but what can you do? Usually people are pretty respectful so this was just a fluke. However there are a couple of people who seem to make a point of only calling on Fridays. One of them even made notes to himself to NOT call on Fridays. So what's the difficulty here? Just don't dial our number.

0 comments so far

previous current next
archives